top of page

Book Review of ‘The Essentials of Vedic Astrology'

Updated: Apr 17

Original Article was published in my Medium Page

Book — ‘The Essentials of Vedic Astrology’ written by Komilla Sutton

Book Review of ‘The Essentials of Vedic Astrology'

The History of Astrology dates back to thousands of years. Some says that it was the Indo-European people, who during the 3rd millennium BC have made roots in the calendrical systems and used to predict based on their celestial calculations. It was interesting to read the science which made them look at the stars and prognosticate one’s future. It was those times, when most of the administrative decisions taken were based on this science. The Kings and Queens used to respect the knowledge mostly carried on by the priests. It was during the 17 century BC when astrology took news forms and entered the political and cultural circles. Astrology is also used for finding our problems, their roots and ways to overcome from the celestial perspective.

The Vedic system of astrology consists of twelve houses and each house has its own implications. For example, the first house in astrology denotes self or the Atma (soul). The first house is all about yourself and your looks. The first house states as to who you are as an individual. This provides a very important information about the type of the person. Similarly, there are other eleven houses which has its own meanings and values. Some states that sixth, eighth and twelfth houses are not good. But each of these houses have their own importance. For example, the eight house in not only about birth, death or suddenness, it’s also about understanding yourself deep and is about major happenings in your life including your parental property. So, every house in Vedic Astrology aspects many parts of one’s life.

Each house is divided into Nakshatras and is divided into degrees. Planets are positioned in the degrees and they give their respective benefits which may be beneficial or malefic depending on the placements and their depositors. A prediction is done based on a seeing other parameters like Maha Dasha, Antar Dasha, Pratyantar and Sooksma dasha. From a single chart many charts are prepared. The main important chart is the D1 chart which is called the Lagna Chart. It’s from the Lagna chart that other charts like D2 — Hora Chart, D9 — Navamsha Chart etc are derived. Those charts help to understand in depth the occurring of an event and reason for which an event is not likely to take place. Also I want to mention that there are different types of horoscope charts prepared viz eastern style, northern style, southern style etc which are same charts but viewed differently based on the comfort of an astrologer. For example astrology being my hobby, I am comfortable in Charts created in Eastern Style.

Then an astrologer also needs to focus on the strength of the planets and many astrologers see it from navamsha and the Shadbala — Bhavbala table. So, a good astrologer needs to take care of all the parameters and charts before pronouncing the predictions.

The Book ‘The Essentials of Vedic Astrology’ by Komilla Sutton is an excellent book on learning ‘Vedic Astrology’. Komilla Sutton is an internationally renowned consultant, teacher and lecturer of Vedic astrology. Her work on Vedic astrology had helped the readers to understand the connection between Western and Vedic Astrology. Western Astrology generally is based on the “tropical calendar” and the four seasons. Vedic Astrology on the other hand calculates everything based on the sidereal system, typically based on the observable constellations. Vedic Astrology is more about Karmas, dharmas, rising signs etc.

Komilla Sutton wonderfully expresses the four cornerstones of Vedic Astrology through the four pillars like Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha. The book provides great detailed explanation on the Journey of the Soul, how the planets work in Vedic astrology, the importance of each planet, the Karmic Axis, The Nakshatras, the Vimshottari Dasas, the Gochara transits, the Vargas, the Gunas, The Yogas etc.

The author has beautifully described the Principles of Vedic Astrology and explained with few lines about Vedas and about the Upanishads. The author Komilla Sutton in the book, The Essentials of Vedic Astrology, have written:

The Soul undergoes all sorts of experiences, but it still has to retain its purity. We start to believe that what is actually an illusion is, in fact, reality; the illusion and the reality become confused in our minds and the souls gradually becomes attached to the material world. As we move towards a higher consciousness, we start to understand that all earthly attachments will be shed when we die.

If I have to rate the book on 10 stars and 10 being the highest, I will give the book 9 stars.

(Please Note: The above are my own personal thoughts after going through the book. Your views and opinions after reading the book may differ)

This is all from me in this article. Hope you have liked my personal thoughts and opinions.

Thanks for visiting the Book Review Website:

Thanks and Regards:

Mainak Majumdar, Book Critic

24 views0 comments


bottom of page